City News

Statesville City Council will meet Monday night, December 4, at 7 p.m.  This meeting is not an opportunity for public comment. 

Monday night’s meeting will include the swearing in of newly elected Council members John Staford, Steve Johnson and Doris Allison and re-elected members William Morgan and C.O. Johnson and Mayor Costi Kutteh.

Once the new Council is sworn in, their first order of business is elect a mayor pro-tempore among themselves.

There are two items under regular business for the new council to consider, including a request from the Statesville Police Department to accept a $375,000 grant over a three-year period from the Department of Justice to fund three school resource officer positions.

The second request from the SPD is for permission to apply for a grant from the N.C. Governor’s Crime Commission for up to $150,000 to support the department’s Domestic Violence Initiative.

Both grants require matches from the City.

The meeting will start out with the old Council members conducting business.  They will consider un-tabling a request to fund $10,000 for the Iredell Museums.  The matter was tabled at the last meeting so that more information on the proposed use of the funds could be provided.  According to Council Member Roy West, who is making the request on the Museums’ behalf, the funding will offset the loss of state funding for special programs benefiting the Iredell County Library, East Iredell Elementary School, American Renaissance Charter School and Success Institute Charter School. 

This will be the last meeting for Council members Arnold Watt, Mike Schlesinger and Jarrod Phifer.  The Mayor will present them with plaques of appreciation for their service. 

City Council will meet in the Council Chambers on the second floor of City Hall, 227 S. Center St.  The meeting is open to the public.  The Pre-Agenda meeting will begin at 6 p.m. in the third floor conference room. 

CLICK HERE to view the complete agenda.

Nancy Davis
Public Affairs Director
email Nancy