Skip To Content

Pay Now

SWM web

The City of Statesville received it's National Pollutant Discharge & Elimination System (NPDES) permit in November of 2016.  This permit is frequently referred to as a Phase II permit.   It was issued by the EPA and is administered by the NC Department of Environmental Quality.  This permit has minimum measures the City has to comply with and has 5 years to do so.  The City has taken steps to implement a program to improve the quality of stormwater runoff. Statesville's Stormwater Management Program went into effect July 1, 2019 and is in compliance with the above measures as well as initial efforts to improve the City's stormwater infrastructure. 



Stormwater Related Websites: Click here for a list of useful websites about stormwater

WATCH THIS VIDEO: "Understanding the Value of Planning for Stormwater Projects"
Considering the frequent rain events that the region has been experiencing this year, this video illustrates the value, planning, and importance of investing into municipal Stormwater infrastructure.

Stormwater Advisory Committee

The City of Statesville created a Stormwater Advisory Commission (SWAC) in December of 2016. Members of this new commission were appointed by the City Council and  will assist in the study and creation of the City's stormwater service utility. The creation of the commission is a result of the state's directive to begin developing a plan to meet North Carolina's stormwater requirements.

To the extent possible, the commission has members who: have experience in the development or building industry; are interested in the environment; are involved in neighborhood or homeowner associations; or have interests in the areas of retail/commercial, industrial/manufacturing, institutional (i.e., churches, schools, non-profits) or technical (engineers, architects, surveyors). Members should be a resident of, own property in or conduct business in the City of Statesville. Non-voting members will be: a member of City Council, a member from the Planning Board and the City's Assistant Public Works Director.

The SWAC meets on the third Thursday of each month at 11:30 a.m. in the City Hall Conference Room on the 3rd floor. monthly for the first year.

MEMBERSHIP:  Mary Katherine Harbin, Joe Hudson, Tim Johnson, Steve Knight, Pressly Mattox, Daniel Pope, Janice Powell, David Reese, Charles Taylor and Council liaison Amy Lawton.

RESPONSIBILITIES: The SWAC will work with City staff to become knowledgeable about stormwater in Statesville, evaluate the feasibility and creation of a stormwater utility, review guidelines and make recommendations to the City Council about stormwater runoff control and stormwater management.


For information on the City's Storm Drainage Policy, click here.